Compare · Prices checked October 21, 2026
Elicit vs Consensus (2026)
Published starting prices: Elicit, Free; Plus $11/mo. Consensus, Free; Pro $12/mo. Side-by-side public pricing, what each does, real use cases and who each suits, all from our listings with sources. We haven't tested either hands-on.
-
ResearchFree tier
Elicit
A research assistant for academic papers: search, screening and data extraction for literature and systematic reviews.
Subscription · 3 use casesFree; Plus $11/mo
-
ResearchFree tier
Consensus
An AI search engine over peer-reviewed research that summarizes what studies found, with citations.
SubscriptionFree; Pro $12/mo
Quick answer
- Cheaper: Comparing the lowest listed monthly plans: Elicit Plus: $11/user/mo (billed annually ($132/yr)), and Consensus Pro: $12/mo ($144/yr). Elicit lists the lower one. Elicit and Consensus also have a free plan. Plans differ in what they include, and some are per seat or billed yearly, so compare the plan details. Checked October 21, 2026.
- Free plans: Elicit: yes. Its Basic plan is Free, checked October 21, 2026. Consensus: yes. Its Free plan is $0 (basic paper search), checked October 21, 2026.
Pricing side by side
| Item | ||
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free; Plus $11/mo | Free; Pro $12/mo |
| Pricing model | Subscription | Subscription |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Plans |
|
|
| Pricing note | The page showed more than one price set for Pro and Scale; we list the lowest. | Prices captured with annual billing. |
| Checked | October 21, 2026 | October 21, 2026 |
| Source | Vendor pricing page | Vendor pricing page |
Copied from each vendor's public pricing page on the date shown. "not published" means the vendor doesn't publish it; we don't guess. Prices change; confirm with the vendor.
Features and details from our listings
| Item | Elicit | Consensus |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A research assistant for academic papers: search, screening and data extraction for literature and systematic reviews. | An AI search engine over peer-reviewed research that summarizes what studies found, with citations. |
| Made by | Elicit | Consensus |
| Listed under | Research agents | Research agents |
| Jobs it fits |
|
|
| Verified public use cases | 3 | 0 |
Use cases
Elicit
-
Use caseResearchVendor case study
Clinical lab MicroGenDX uses Elicit across biostatistics, medical affairs and marketing, saving up to 4 hours per literature review.
date not statedElicit
-
Use caseResearchVendor case study
Oxford PharmaGenesis used Elicit to run a rapid review of 40 questions across nearly 500 papers in under a week.
date not statedElicit
-
Use caseResearchVendor case study
VDI/VDE says Elicit helps it scale its systematic reviews 11x faster, covering far more papers per review.
date not statedElicit
Consensus
We haven't found a verified public use case for Consensus yet.
Use cases are summarised in our own words from the linked public post; vendor case studies are labelled. All use cases.
Who each is best for
- SubscriptionFree plan
Elicit is best for
- Teams that need to: Literature reviews with traceable citations; Extract data from hundreds of papers.
- Budget: starts at Free; Plus $11/mo (subscription, free plan available).
- SubscriptionFree plan
Consensus is best for
- Teams that need to: Check what the research says about a claim; Find papers for a report.
- Budget: starts at Free; Pro $12/mo (subscription, free plan available).
From our listing data (jobs, public pricing); not a hands-on test. Full details: Elicit · Consensus.
FAQ
Which is cheaper, Elicit or Consensus?
Comparing the lowest listed monthly plans: Elicit Plus: $11/user/mo (billed annually ($132/yr)), and Consensus Pro: $12/mo ($144/yr). Elicit lists the lower one. Elicit and Consensus also have a free plan. Plans differ in what they include, and some are per seat or billed yearly, so compare the plan details. Checked October 21, 2026.
Is Elicit free? Is Consensus free?
Elicit: yes. Its Basic plan is Free, checked October 21, 2026. Consensus: yes. Its Free plan is $0 (basic paper search), checked October 21, 2026.
How much does Elicit cost?
Elicit lists Basic: Free; Plus: $11/user/mo (billed annually ($132/yr)); Pro: from $39/user/mo (billed annually); Scale: from $89/user/mo (billed annually). Its lowest listed monthly plan is Plus: $11/user/mo (billed annually ($132/yr)). The page showed more than one price set for Pro and Scale; we list the lowest. Checked October 21, 2026 on the vendor's pricing page.
How much does Consensus cost?
Consensus lists Free: $0 (basic paper search); Pro: $12/mo ($144/yr); Deep: $45/mo ($540/yr). Its lowest listed monthly plan is Pro: $12/mo ($144/yr). Prices captured with annual billing. Checked October 21, 2026 on the vendor's pricing page.
Did AITeamGuide test them?
Not hands-on. This comparison is built from each vendor's public pricing page (with the date we checked it), published product information and credited public use cases.
Can a vendor pay to win this comparison?
No. Nothing here is paid. Paid placements on AITeamGuide are always labelled "Sponsored" or "Featured" and never change a comparison or ranking.
Related guides
All comparisons →- Cheapest AI research tools9 sorted by price
- Consensus vs PerplexitySide-by-side pricing
More comparisons
- ChatGPT vs PerplexitySide-by-side pricing
Work at Elicit or Consensus? Vendors can claim their listing for free or feature it with a label that says "Sponsored"; paid status never changes the order on this page. Building a different agent? List it here.
Comparing Elicit and Consensus? Get the weekly AITeamGuide
One email a week: the best new AI agents, real prices and price changes (Elicit and Consensus included), real-world use cases and new Hub tools. Free; unsubscribe anytime.